Welcome to the Ray County, Missouri website

Ray County was organized in 1820 and on January 1, 1821, when Missouri became a state, it was one of the original 14 counties and at that time included the entire northwest corner of the state. It was named after the Honorable John Ray, a state legislator. Richmond became the permanent county seat on September 24, 1827.

Current population is 23,494 according to the 2010 census.
Ray County Certified Court Order For ARPA Funds

It is hereby resolved by the Ray County Commission as follows:
1. That the whole sum of ARPA Funds received to date and to be received in the future for a total of $4,470,977, and that $1.2 Million be claimed as a standard allowance for revenue loss; and
2. That the revenue loss funds received will be used to provide government services for the residents of Ray County, Missouri and that Ray County will designate the use of ARPA Funds by the end of calendar year 2024 and that the funds will be spent by the end of the calendar year 2026.
Click here for Certified Court Order document.

November 8, 2022 – Click here for Live Election Results
Changed Voter Requirements

Starting on the upcoming November 8, 2022 Election the following will be required for all voters:

Statute 115.427 – Voters must show a photo ID, defined only as a nonexpired Missouri driver’s license, nonexpired or non-expiring Missouri nondriver’s license, or document that contains the voter’s name (which matches the voter registration, photograph, expiration date (and it’s not expired or expired after the date of the most recent general election), and the document was issued by the United States or state of Missouri or military ID. A voter without that form of ID can vote a blue or white provisional ballot that will count if the voter’s signature matches the voter registration record.

Meet Your County Commission

County Contacts

If you have business with any office, please contact the office in which you need information from. See the list below of the office and contact number.